Come enjoy an evening of inspiration and celebration hosted by the Women in Architecture Committee. We will be celebrating this year’s WiA/CFD Center for Design scholarship recipients as well as hearing a panel discussion about “Being The Only In The Room“. Dine and mingle amongst the WiA community while enjoying a beautiful space previously featured as a WiA site tour, as well as sweeping capitol views.

Appetizers, dinner, dessert and drinks will be served. Cocktail attire is not required but admired. Silent Auction and Raffle prizes available to bid on with proceeds going to the WiA/CFD Scholarship fund.

Location: Texas Bankers Association, 203 W 10th St, Austin, TX 78701

Date and time: Thu, March 28, 2024 6:00 PM – 9:00 PM

Purchase your tickets

JANKI DEPALMA Director of Business Development – W.E. O’Neil Construction

Janki DePalma is a connector at heart, who always feels there is room to widen the circle.  She has worked closely with and for architects for the past 20 years though her background is in literature and language.  She has been an AIA Austin board member for 4 years, chair for the WIA Austin Call to Action college series for 3 and is an active member of groups such as ULI, CREW and SMPS.  She also loves to write, having published articles in Zweig Group Newsletter, SMPS Marketer, AIA Young Architects Forum and is a frequent speaker for AIA Design Excellence Conference and ILinCP Invest in Women symposium.  In her spare time, she loves traveling with her family, watching reruns of Veronica Mars, and reveling in all things 90s. 


MIKEL BENNETT, AIA NOMA – Senior Associate – Chioco Design
Mikel received a Bachelor of Architecture from the University of Oklahoma in 2001 and joined Chioco Design in 2014. She has international experience working at firms in New York, San Francisco, Chicago, and London, including Zaha Hadid Architects. While in New York, Mikel attended Parsons at The New School for Design where she studied and worked in the fashion industry. This experience provided her with a deeper knowledge of materiality and processes of design at any scale. In addition to residential and commercial work, Mikel’s experience includes museums and educational facilities.

JASMIN PEISEL, NOMA, Associate AIA – Furman + Keil Architects, PLLC
Jasmin was born and raised in Miami, Florida, and attended Florida International University where she received her Masters in Architecture. She is the Vice-President of the Central Texas chapter of the National Organization of Minority Architects, otherwise known as NOMA of Central Texas, and an alumnus of the Leadership Collective, class of 2022. Jasmin has held a variety of roles, including Professor, Owner’s Representative, and Construction Project Manager. These experiences have contributed to her growth as an architect in training who values every detail of the practice. Outside of the office, you can find her roller skating or learning to bake a new dessert.

BHAVANI SINGAL, AIA, NCARB, NOMA Principal Architect – Workshop No5
Vani opened the doors to her architecture firm, Workshop No. 5, after years of experience in the field, where she developed a unique design sensibility and approach to a supportive office environment. She earned a Bachelor of Architecture and a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Design from the University of Houston. Her passion for telling people’s stories through creative design allows her to go above and beyond her client’s expectations. She is a mom to two boys and is constantly learning about the marvel universe, video games, and all things sports. Her experience as a mother and business-owner brings incredible value to her company culture, where flexibility, empathy and family support ensure the team‘s creativity can flourish on everyone’s unique schedule. Vani is passionate about diversity in the design industry, working towards equity for women in the field with her work in WIA and her position on the board for AIA Austin serving as chair for the JEDI (Justice Equity Diversity and Inclusion) Committee.

Scholarship Recipients

Andrea Bailey-Ortiz – Graduate Recipient

Kayla Quilantang – Undergrad Recipient